History of Chio-Tian

Founded by Mr. Chen-Jung Hsu in 1995, the Chio-Tian Folk Drums & Art Troupe (hereafter Chio-Tian) was initially a traditional Taiwanese temple fair parade team. It has since focused its efforts on the innovation and refinement of its art and performance, elevating the traditional local parade show to a higher level of artistic quality and expertise. To achieve this purpose, Chio-Tian has invited experts of various fields of the performance arts (music, dance, theater and martial arts) as instructors, and the troupe leader would teach them about folk culture in return. Such method of cross-field exchange and integration maximizes the effectiveness of training and performance, and the troupe members are trained into not only professional performers but also folk art experts. As they put their youthful efforts into performances based on art learning and training, they are bringing the temple parade show to an artistic level and thus creating a new aesthestic style of the “temple theater”, bringing new life to the old Taiwanese temple fair culture.

Artistic perfection is not the only endeavor of Chio-Tian. Bearing in mind the spirit of community service, the troupe has hired professional counselors and teachers to help out-of-school teenagers reform. By introducing them to the fascination of the parade show and awaken their potential enthusiasm for performance arts, Chio-Tian brings these teenagers back to the right path and helps them build their self-esteem on the way to becoming professional performers. The real-life story of Chio-Tian inspired the film Din Tao: Leader of the Parade (2012), which not only was a heart-warming hit but also pushed Chio-Tian to the prestigious status of the symbolic group for Taiwan’s folk arts.

The transformed Chio-Tian began to draw the attention of media, cultural authorities and even international organizations. The story of Chio-Tian was covered on television, radio, newspaper and magazines, and invitations from art institutions started to come in steadily. Chio-Tian’s instructors and performers have also been invited to schools, communities and clubs as teachers and coaches to promote Taiwan’s folk arts and the culture of parade shows.

As the one of the largest and most professional performance art groups in Taiwan, Chio-Tian will continue to promote and preserve Taiwan’s most beautiful folk culture and serve to make Taiwan visible to the world by moving on to international stages.

九天緣起

1995年由許振榮團長創立的『九天民俗技藝團』(以下簡稱『九天』),原為傳統廟會陣頭團體;但隨著時代更迭,為使傳統民俗文化得以轉型並永續傳承,九天致力創新與改變,不斷精進技藝、豐富表演內容,強化陣頭表演的藝術性,逐步讓傳統地方廟會陣頭走向藝術化、專業化。為此,九天特地聘請音樂、舞蹈、戲劇、武術等各項技藝的專業師資,由團長親自教授教師們民俗文化知識,透過跨領域的交流與整合,把訓練與表演效益發揮到極致,將每一位團員培育為專業表演人員之際,也提昇民俗表演人才。團員透過藝術薰陶及訓練傾注青春年華、旺盛精力揮灑在表演上,共同推動台灣陣頭藝術化發展,使「廟會劇場」成為新美學,發揚臺灣傳統廟會文化新生命。

在持續提升陣頭藝術內涵的同時,九天也秉持著社會服務的精神,禮聘專業輔導員與教師,藉由陣頭表演的魅力,感化中輟青少年的內心,觸動其對於表演藝術的熱忱因子,進而回歸生活正軌、建立自信,共同朝著專業演員為目標。而在2012年,改編自九天民俗技藝團真實故事題材的「陣頭」電影,在國內帶動一股激勵人心、感動大眾的熱潮,使得九天快速崛起成為代表台灣本土藝術的指標團隊。

蛻變後的九天開始引起各方媒體與文化單位,甚至是國際舞台的矚目,許多電視、電台、報章雜誌爭相報導九天的故事,藝文機構亦是邀約不斷。同時,教師與演員們也應邀到各學校、社區、社團擔任教學教練,將台灣民俗技藝、陣頭文化傳承遠播。

九天身為國內最具規模與專業的表演藝術團隊,獲得臺中市傑出演藝團隊與文建會(今文化部)國家優良扶植團隊(國家級表演團隊)肯定,將致力發揚與傳承台灣最優美的民俗文化,推動台灣文化創意產業,並且持續以推廣台灣、讓世界看見為己任,致力朝著國際舞台邁進。